top of page

ELH Challenge # 119


Challenge

This week we had to be creative in customizing the player layout/look. No need to include navigation.

Brainstorm

I was thinking of what tool I have used and could teach in an elearning lesson. I decided on the Picasa tool which allows you to easily transform images and it's FREE. I wanted to try something out of the norm so the main focus here was to remove the menu on the left side (inspired by Magic Johnson in the ELH community with his Virgin Airlines project).

For lessons, I find it useful to have a menu so the learner can go directly to the items or lessons they need to review. With the already built menu in player, it's easy. But it can create a stale look after a while and does distract and provide less room on the slide. Not that it's "that bad" if used.

Construction

The main change I made to the normal look was remove the menu pane on the left side. I put the Menu in the Player Tab as a drop down list in the top right. I also changed the text in the "Next" button. I decided to keep the slide and main stage white but then made the background for the rest to a blue (which you can't see above and will see when you demo it).

Final Comments

What I did lose was the templated location for the logo so I placed it within the slide since I had room for it and the visibility of the menu items. So would I use this for lesson? Perhaps for short and sweet lessons and maybe fun subject matter. I certainly didn't mind Magic's Virgin Airlines project.

Click here to view the demo.


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
bottom of page